Album: Welcome to My DNA
Artist: Blackfield
2011 Kscope (Snapper Music)
CD: kscope168

Aviv Geffen: vocals (lead on 2, 9; shared lead on 3, 6, 7, 11), piano, keys, additional guitars
Steven Wilson: vocals (lead on 1, 4, 5, 8, 10; shared lead on 3, 6, 7, 11), guitars, additional keys
Eran Mitelman: piano, Hammond organ
Seffy Efrati: bass
Tomer Z: drums, percussion

Yankale Segal: tar (7), oud (7), saz (7)
Alex: backing vocals (8, 9)
Ariel Tuchman: slide guitar (8)
Trevor Horn: additional keys (9)

Strings & horns arranged by Geffen (1-3, 5, 7-11), Wilson (4), Wilson/Geffen (6)
Copyist: Ron Klein
Performed by the London Session Orchestra (strings leader: Perry Montague Mason; session fixer: Isobel Griffiths)

Produced by Geffen/Wilson (1-8, 10, 11), Trevor Horn (9)
Mixed by Wilson
Assisted by Steve Orchard
Recorded in No Man's Land (Hemel Hempstead), Sarm West (London), Pluto (Tel Aviv), Bardo (Tel Aviv)
Mastered by Jon Astley
Photos/graphic design: Carl Glover
Additional photos: Chiko, Noa Magger

1. Glass House [Geffen] (2:56)
2. Go to Hell [Geffen] (3:03)
3. Rising of the Tide [Geffen] (3:47)
4. Waving [Wilson] (3:54)
5. Far Away [Geffen] (2:47)
6. Dissolving With the Night [Geffen] (4:06)
7. Blood [Geffen] (3:17)
8. On the Plane [Geffen] (3:41)
9. Oxygen [Geffen] (3:04)
10. Zigota [Geffen] (5:04)
11. DNA [Geffen] (3:56)

Notes: "Zigota" is a reworking of the Aviv Geffen solo track from his album Memento Mori.

Blackfield is a collaboration between Steve Wilson of Porcupine Tree and Aviv Geffen dating back to around 2000/2001, with their debut album being in 2004. Welcome to My DNA is their third album; it charted at #139 in the UK. Unlike earlier Blackfield albums, Welcome to My DNA was almost entirely written by Geffen, whereas previous albums had been more equally shared between Geffen and Wilson.

Geffen previously worked with Horn on his 2009 eponymous solo album, Aviv Geffen. (HP, 14 May 11)
Return to Home Page