Album: When We Changed You
Artist: XNA
2013 Megalodon Multimedia/Cleopatra Recordings

Adam Malin: keyboards
David Hussey: vocals, additional keyboards, flute, violin, classical guitar
Danny Bryle: guitar
Scott Connor: drums
Billy Sherwood: bass, additional guitars

with Tonilyn Hornung: voice of the well (5)

Produced, recorded and mixed by Sherwood at CIRCA: HQ Studios
Additional recording at Chalice Well, Glastonbury, UK (fountain SFX), Sand Canyon Studios, The Waiting Room, No Name
Mastered by Maor Appelbaum

Original paintings by JC Hussey; compass illustration by Judy Merrell
Design & layout by Wombat Films, Inc.
Photography by the band, Michi Sherwood, Andre Torng, Ellen Caranasos, Colin Shields, Elisabeth Reinstrom
Manufactured by Megalodon Manufacturing

1. "At Childhood's Beginning (Overture)" [Malin/Hussey] (2:01)
2. "When We Changed You" [Malin/Hussey] (7:19)
3. "Banner of the Whyte Boar" [Hussey/Malin] (15:03)
4. "The Flying Dutchman" [Malin/Hussey/Connor] (9:28)
5. "The Vale of Avalon (For Chalice Well)" [Hussey/Malin] (7:08)
6. "Annapurna" [Malin/Hussey] (8:29)
7. "At Childhood's End" [Malin/Hussey] (16:06)

Arranged by XNA

Notes: This is the debut album from new band, XNA (initially announced under the name Breathe), founded by David Hussey (ex-Genesis tribute band Gabble Ratchet, ex-Yes tribute band Closer to the Edge) and Adam Malin (ex-Psycle, ex-Sheltered Lives), with Hussey's colleague from Gabble Ratchet, Scott Connor. Connor is better known for joining Yoso and CIRCA: with Billy Sherwood. In late 2013, the live band consisted of Hussey, Malin, Connor, John Thomas (worked with Toni Childs, Vixen, Graham Bonnet; guitar) and Jeff Bird (Magnolia, ex-Yes tribute band Roundabout; bass).

The album, initially announced under the name Paranormal, is a science fiction concept album. Malin is the composer/author of several solo sci-fi rock operas and co-founded Creation Entertainment, the company responsible for the original Star Trek Convention. Promo for the album included praise from William Shatner (working at the time with Sherwood and Connor) and Leonard Nimoy.

The album was some years in the making. Sherwood talked on Facebook of mixing the album from Jul 2011 to Jun 2012, but then new bass and drums recordings were done (with Sherwood coming in on bass, replacing, I think, Jim Wilson). A new mix was done in Oct 2012. The album was released in the US 22 Oct 2013. (HP, 22 Dec 13)
Return to Home Page