Album: Flash
Artist: Out of Our Hands
1973 Capitol [US]; Sovereign [UK]
LP: SMAS-11218 [US]; SVNA 726 [UK]
1994 One Way Records CD: S21-17414 (re-release)

Band members:
Peter Banks: guitars, backing vocals, Moog, ARP synthesizer, banjo
Ray Bennett: bass guitar, vocals, Mellotron, piano, clavinet, acoustic guitar
Colin Carter: vocals
Mike Hough: drums, congas, tablas

1. Open Sky [Banks] (3:19)
2. None the Wiser (King) [Bennett] (3:19)
3. Farewell Number One (Pawn) [Bennett] (1:38)
4. Man of Honour (Knight) [Bennett] (4:43)
5. Dead Ahead (Queen) [Bennett] (4:20)
6. The Bishop [Bennett] (4:20)
7. Psychosync (Escape-Farewell-Number Two-Conclusion) [Banks/Bennett] (4:51)
8. Manhattan Morning (Christmas '72) [Carter] (6:23)
9. Shadows (It's You) [Carter]  (3:19)

Notes: The album made #135 in the US charts. Banks' later band Empire subsequently recorded a song called "Out of Our Hands".

This was the last Flash album, the band breaking up in discord. Bennett, Carter and Hough had a band together, working in New York City, not long after, and Carter and Hough also worked together in another band with Al Greenwood (ex-Foreigner). Bennett and Carter eventually put together a Flash reunion: Banks was approached, but declined after discussions (partly objecting to Bennett's desire to swith to lead guitar). Hough was initially involved, but the reunited band eventually debuted as merely a duo in 2005. (HP, 3 Dec 2005)

Return to Home Page