Album: The Word is Live
Artist: Yes
2005 ATCO/Elektra/Rhino (Warner Strategic Marketing)
CD: 8122-78234-2

Band members:
Jon Anderson: vocals (1-19, 23-26), rhythm guitar (9-12), acoustic guitar (15-17), percussion (13, 14)
Chris Squire: bass (all), vocals (5-26)
Tony Kaye: keyboards (1-8, 23-26)
Bill Bruford: drums (1-8)
Peter Banks: guitars (1-8)
Steve Howe: guitar (3-22), vocals (9-22)
Alan White: drums (9-26)
Rick Wakeman: keyboards (13-19)
Patrick Moraz: keyboards (9-11)
Trevor Horn: vocals (20-22)
Geoff Downes: keyboards (20-22)
Trevor Rabin: guitar (23-26), vocals (23-26)

Compilation produced by Yes, Steve Woolard and David McLees
With additional archival research & mixing by Steve Howe
Producer: Jeff Griffin (1-2)
Mixed by Trevor Rabin (23-26)
All selection except (1-2) are previously unissued. These recordings are culled from many sources, but special thanks must be given to Steve Howe for generously lending us his collection of tapes for this project. Thanks also to the many engineers and technicians who made these recordings, particularly Eddie Offord, Mike Dunne, Nigel Luby, Geoff Haslam, and all the others whose names didn't get scribbled on the tape boxes.

Remastering: Dan Hersch & Bill Inglot
Product Manager: Lisa Liese
Editorial Supervision: Cory Frye
Project Assistance: Randy Perry, Karen LeBlanc, Tim Scanlin, Gil Kaufman, Steven Chean
Special Thanks to: Clifford W Loeslin, Jon Dee, Trevor Hall, Ray Carroll, Mike Tiano, Bryan Jensen, David Watkinson, Syd Schwartz, Glen DiCrocco, Randy Lindquist
Management: 10th Street Entertainment

Cover painting by Roger Dean
Cover design by Martyn Dean
Book design: Greg Allen
Booklet written by Greg Lake (pp 4-5), Mike Tiano (pp 6, 8-9, 13), Bill Martin (pp 16, 19, 23), Doug & Glenn Gottlieb (pp 26, 29, 30-31), Brian Ives (pp 34, 36, 38-39), Tim Jones (pp 40, 42-44) with contributions from Bob Hagger, Gerry Crossman, Duncan Sheik, Br. David Landry, Whitney Johnson, Joe Skyward, David Couch, John Frusciante, Matthew Sweet, Donovan Louis Mayne-Nicholls, Geddy Lee, Dr. Mark Puskar, Taylor Hawkins, Michele Wechsler, Hernan Torres, Ted Canty

Disc 1:
1. Then [Anderson] (5:25)
2. For Everyone [Anderson/Squire] (4:45)
3. Astral Traveller [Anderson] (7:24)
4. Everydays [Stephen Stills] (11:01)
5. Yours is No Disgrace [Anderson/Bruford/Howe/Kaye/Squire] (11:45)
6. I've Seen All Good People (7:52)
    a. Your Move [Anderson]
    b. All Good People [Squire]
7. America [Paul Simon] (16:21)
8. It's Love [Felix Cavaliere/Eddie Brigati] (11:07)

Disc 2:
9. Apocalypse [Anderson/Bruford/Howe/Squire] (3:08)
10. Siberian Khatru [Anderson] (10:11)
11. Sound Chaser [Anderson/Howe/Moraz/Squire/White] (11:17)
12. Sweet Dreams [Anderson/Foster] (6:22)
13. Future Times/Rejoice (6:59)
    a. Future Times [Anderson/Howe/Squire/Wakeman/White]
    b. Rejoice [Anderson]
14. Circus of Heaven [Anderson] (4:52)
15. The Big Medley (25:53)
    a. Time and a Word [Anderson/David Foster]
    b. Long Distance Runaround [Anderson]
    c. Survival [Anderson]
    d. The Fish (Schindleria Praematurus) [Squire]
    e. Perpetual Change [Anderson/Squire]
    f. Soon [Anderson/Howe/Moraz/Squire/White]
16. Hello Chicago [Anderson/Howe/Squire/Wakeman/White] (2:11)
17. Roundabout [Anderson/Howe] (8:42)

Disc 3:
18. Heart of the Sunrise [Anderson/Squire/Bruford] (10:56)
19. Awaken [Anderson/Howe] (17:53)
20. Go Through This [Howe] (4:21)
21. We Can Fly from Here [Downes/Horn] (6:46)
22. Tempus Fugit [Downes/Horn/Howe/Squire/White] (5:53)
23. Rhythm of Love [Kaye/Rabin/Anderson/Squire] (6:42)
24. Hold On [Rabin/Anderson/Squire] (7:24)
25. Shoot High, Aim Low [White/Kaye/Rabin/Anderson/Squire] (8:27)
26. Make It Easy/Owner of a Lonely Heart [Rabin; Rabin/Anderson/Squire/Horn] (6:09)

Notes: Following on from In a Word: Yes and Rhino's remaster series came this live compilation. Sources:

Early touring—previously released on Something's Coming: (1-2) John Peel's Sunday Show (12 Mar 70)
The Yes Album tour: (3-4) Konserthuset, Gothenberg, Sweden (24 Jan 71); (5-8) Crystal Palace Bowl, London (31 Jul 71)
Solo albums tour: (9-11) Cobo Hall, Detroit (17 Aug 76)
Relayer tour (previously released on "Live in QPR" DVD, but this is probably from different master tapes): (12) Queen's Park Rangers Football Ground, London (10 May 75)
Tormato tour: (13-14, 18) Oakland Coliseum, Oakland, CA (8 Oct 78); (15) The Forum, Inglewood, CA (5 Oct 78); (16) Chicago International Amphitheatre, Chicago, IL (9 Jun 79); (17, 19) Chicago International Amphitheatre, Chicago, IL (10 Jun 79)
Drama tour (from an FM radio broadcast): (20-22) Madison Square Garden, NY (6 Sep 80)
Big Generator tour (same show as three tracks on YesYears, but different tracks): (23-26) Houston Summit, TX (19 Feb 88)
The accompanying 62-page booklet is illustrated with numerous photographs and includes contributions from famous musicians and, via a YesWorld competition, ten fans on their all-time favourite Yes concert experiences. Before release, some online retailers advertised the set as comprising 2 CDs plus a bonus DVD (with the same track list as the third CD). Why this happened is unclear. A single CD promo was put out:

1. Yours is No Disgrace
2. I've Seen All Good People
3. America
4. It's Love
5. Siberian Khatru
6. Sound Chaser

Material only covered the period Yes was signed to Atlantic, thus nothing beyond the Big Generator tour. Songs were also selected to avoid overlapping previous releases, principally Yessongs and Yesshows. (HP, 8 Oct 05; thanks to Brian and to Daniel Earnshaw for additional info)

Return to Home Page